How to Get Over “I Don’t Feel Like It”

I’ve had this problem often in my life.  This post, in particular feels a bit ironic to write, because today I didn’t feel like it.  I did not really feel like doing much of anything today.  I made several other excuses.  I’m hugely pregnant.  I hurt my ankle (again) and can’t really walk.  My children were kind of crazy today.  I’m tired.  Here’s the thing:  I have already committed to myself that I will write on the blog Monday through Friday.  When you’ve committed to something, excuses don’t matter.  You either do it, or you don’t.  Also writing does not involve ankles!  I can still be productive, dang it! 

So that was my pep talk to myself.  Maybe it helped you, maybe you’re laughing at my ridiculousness.  Either way, I already decided what I wanted to talk about today, and it is how to get over that feeling of not wanting to do something.  This is why we are all such good procrastinators, but I heard an interesting quote recently:

“Amateurs wait until they feel inspired to do creative work. Professionals do it on a strict schedule.”

Procrastination is the difference between an amateur and a professional.  Professionals generally are those who have succeeded in their fields, and that is what we are all striving for: success.

If you wait to feel inspired, or you wait to have enough energy or courage, your productivity won’t be consistent, and you won’t get where you need to go.  This is all easier said than done though.  Here are two suggestions to help get you through those times where you just don’t feel like it.

1. Schedule a time to work.  Regardless of whether you are feeling good or bad, just start.  Don’t do anything else during that time.  That is exclusive work time.  The more you do, the more momentum you will have on your side.  Momentum makes everything seem easier.

2. Give yourself permission for imperfection.  Writer’s first drafts are famously flawed.  Olympic athletes still show up to practice when they are tired.  Will those writers write a masterpiece that day?  Maybe not.  Will that swimmer get his best time that day?  Probably not, but they will accomplish things miles ahead of those who didn’t do anything on those days.  You don’t have to be awesome every day.  It’s OK to have less than perfect work sometimes.

As you are consistent, you will see results over time.  Inconsistency is your enemy.  So choose a time, and just start.  Whatever your goal is, just do a little bit every day.  You can do it!

 

 

If you would like to learn more about our business you can email me at candidnetworkmarketing@gmail.com or find us on our Facebook group.

Leave a Reply

